Home

Christian Healing Ministries with Francis and Judith MacNutt

April 12, 2013

In John’s gospel, he records a time when the crowds were leaving Jesus, because of his hard sayings.  As he watches so many of those he loved turn from him, Jesus looks into the eyes of his friends and asks, “Do you want to go away as well?”  Speaking for the twelve, Peter responds to Jesus with these words that ring for eternity, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life,  and we have believed, and have come to know, that you are the Holy One of God.” It is this response by Peter that I think best describes my three days at Christian Healing Ministries in Jacksonville, Florida.

During the three-day Intensive Prayer Ministry retreat, it was as if I was in the very center of God’s presence hearing the words of eternal life whispered to me from Jesus himself.  He spoke to me in my spirit, through Prayer Ministers, in Scripture, and through the teachings of Francis and Judith MacNutt.  His words of eternal life entered into me like air filling me with much needed oxygen.  His sanctifying truth entered me like blood in my veins.  His perfect love entered me like the fulfillment of an impossible dream.  His arms embraced me during these three days like the bathing sunlight.  I was cleansed by his washing water of life that not only washes but heals, too.  I feel like the apostle John trying to describe his vision of the multitudes of heaven worshiping the one who sits upon the throne and the Lamb.  Words are insufficient to capture the majesty of God’s presence and redeeming works.  I believe in him more and know more certainly that he is the Holy One of God who has saved me.

For over 40 years, Francis MacNutt has been expressing God’s love and grace in the healing ministry.  For most of those years, Francis’ wife Judith has been an equally active partner in this ministry.  Since 1987, Christian Healing Ministries has been based in Jacksonville, FL at a quaint, cozy and serene setting where they host healing ministry.  I was blessed to be included in an Intensive Healing Ministry retreat for Anglican priests from the Diocese of the Mid-Atlantic in the ACNA.  The retreat is sponsored by generous, anonymous donors.  When asked if I would like to participate, I could not type “YES!!” fast enough.  I had read all of the MacNutt’s books and spent a day with Judith a couple of years ago at a clergy-spouse retreat.  I knew this ministry retreat would be good…”Good” doesn’t even come close to what I experienced.

During the three days we received ministry (and receiving ministry itself is such a gracious blessing for those who usually give ministry), each of us priests had five hours of private prayer ministry given to us by two trained Prayer Ministers.  These Prayer Ministers had prayed for us before we came and devoted their attention and spiritual gifts to us to facilitate our healing and deliverance.   Can you imagine two mature Christians who freely give three days to devote to your healing!  That can only come from the God of heaven who is active in their expressions of grace.  During my time with the Prayer Ministers, they didn’t give me advice or teach or preach.  They kept bringing me to Jesus for Jesus to speak words of truth and life to me.  As my Prayer Ministers, Jean and Jeff (pictured below) helped me open the door of my heart and take down hardened walls around it, Jesus came and brought healing and forgiveness.   Jean and Jeff were gently assertive and challenging while always encouraging.  They prayed for me and led me in prayers.  To begin each session, Jeff anointed my head and hands with oil for God to bless me.  Jean and Jeff became like spiritual parents to me, in the best sense of the word, during these three days.  We genuinely fell in love with each other in Christ.  Receiving such unconditional love brings indescribable healing and joy.

The 14 participants alternated time with the Prayer Ministers with watching teaching dvd’s by the MacNutt’s followed by times of Soaking Prayer.  If you have never experienced Soaking Prayer, imagine entering a small chapel where a company of angels await your entrance.  In the midst of the angels, Jesus stands with his arms open to welcome you.  He invites you to sit and listen to his voice, as the glory and light of the angels infuses the air of the room and bathes you.  Imagine listening to Jesus and resting in the glory of God.  And just in case you hesitate because you think that surely you must be fantasizing this, Prayer Ministers (two of them — Edie and Jacque pictured below) are present to also soak you with prayer and confirm to you the words that Jesus has spoken.  After sharing what Jesus has showed her, Edie will inevitably say “Isn’t that cool?!”  Oh yes, that is so cool!  That describes Soaking Prayer at Christian Healing Ministries.

We experienced three guided healing meditations and blessings.  A male Prayer Minister gave us a “Father’s Blessing” verbally, and we were invited to come forward and receive a father’s embrace from any of the male Prayer Ministers.  Likewise, a female Prayer Minister gave us a verbal “Mother’s Blessing,” and we were invited to receive a mother’s embrace, too.  Prior to introducing the “Father’s Blessing,” the Prayer Minister Coordinator, Lisa, encouraged us that our fathers and mothers were not being replaced, but God was speaking these blessings he desires for us to have and for all children to receive, even though few do receive them due to the brokenness of all parents.  Lisa gave a word of counsel to try no to analyze but to trust and to receive what God is giving.  What we received were blessings and healing brought by the Holy Spirit through his human vessels.

The third meditation and blessing was the “Celebration of Holy Communion for the Healing of Generations.”  The Chaplain for CHM, Fr. Gene Strickland –an Anglican Priest, led this session designed to break any unhealthy patterns, demonic attachments, handed-down curses, ungodly vows, lies, sins, evil beliefs, etc., that have been passed to us from prior generations including our family of origin.  After the teaching, we completed a genogram (family tree) by writing any of the above issues on the diagram.  We then prayed for healing, deliverance, repentance and forgiveness, and Fr. Gene prayed for us.  Then we shared Holy Communion receiving the Presence of Jesus to fill us.  These genograms with all the negative elements were later burned in the fireplace, as we said “Goodbye” to all of those ungodly things hindering our lives in Christ.

The highlight and wonderful surprise for all of us during the retreat was the two hour session with Francis and Judith.  We learned that Francis is about to turn 88 years old.  I am so grateful for his willingness to come and bless us.  He and Judith spent an hour sharing with us and answering questions about the healing ministry (pictured below — I couldn’t help taking a picture).  When Francis and Judith were speaking to us, God was showering us with their gracious gifts for the church.  The light of Christ literally shines from their eyes and smiles.  Following the time of talking with them, all of us entered the soaking prayer chapel, and Francis and Judith layed hands on each of us — one at a time — and prayed for us.  As they prayed for me and layed their hands on my head and shoulders, I could not help being excited and thinking “Oh my goodness, Francis and Judith MacNutt are laying hands on me and praying for me — Just for Me!”  What a blessing.  As they prayed for the other priests in our group, the Prayer Ministers walked through the room and also prayed and layed hands on us.  All I can say is we experienced the Kingdom of Heaven on earth for sure.  I think that all of us who received prayer would say that those praying for us truly saw into our souls and spoke and prayed anointed words inspired by the Holy Spirit.  As we gathered for the group picture below, Judith looked into my eyes and spoke a prophetic word to me and said “I really see this.”  Yes and Amen!

All of the sessions were preceded by a time of excellent worship.  The worship music was led by Tina, a gifted leader who led us into the worship and presence of the Holy God.  She was adept at facilitating worship and praise without inserting herself between us and God.  I am thankful for her devotion and spiritual gifts expressed for us.

The overwhelming element — call it a feeling, thought, vision, etc — that I have following this retreat seems like the fruit of the Spirit all wrapped up together within me, and Jesus looks on smiling — well pleased with what his children have done in his name.

As I looked at the pictures below, it strikes me that each one is before the cross.  This was not planned by me, but I don’t think it is accidental.  Jesus Christ crucified, resurrected, ascended and returning is the center of Christian Healing Ministries.  He is the one who receives all of the glory.  This is another thing I love about Christian Healing Ministries: the humility that begins with Francis and Judith and characterizes the ministy.

Francis and Judith MacNutt pictured with the 14 Anglican priests (I am the one on the very back right)

20130412-085423.jpg

My Prayer Ministers Jean and Jeff

20130412-085458.jpg

Two of the Soaking Prayer Ministers Edie and Jacque

20130412-085507.jpg

Francis and Judith answering our questions

20130412-085441.jpg

13 Responses to “Christian Healing Ministries with Francis and Judith MacNutt”

  1. Jacque Wright Says:

    Thank you for participating in the IPM; we were so blessed to get to know you and to share the love of Jesus with you. You are certainly a true disciple of Jesus and I call it an honor to have been with you this past week.
    Love in Christ,

    Jacque Wright

  2. Carlos Says:

    Craig! This is an outstanding summary of our prayer retreat at CHM! Thank you for sharing it! Many blessings, brother!

  3. Linda D. King Says:

    How do I find out if this would be a good thing for my son to do?

  4. Djenadi Cullen Says:

    This sounds exactly what several in my family have been searching for. I would like to find out how to go to an IPM.


    • Hi. I encourage you to seek out a church nearby that offers prayers for healing as part of their regular ministry. You may pursue a healing ministry also like Christian Healing Ministry or Restoring the Foundations.

  5. Kathelene Says:

    Lord Assist Me
    Lead me lovingly where I need ti be
    Show me your loving light
    Give me your power and your strength
    Give me your will to do
    Put the people you choose in my life
    Help me grow in your name
    Fill me with your joy
    (Thank you Lord. AMEN)
    Holy Spirit

  6. Joachim Culotta, O.P. Says:

    I was taught homiletics by Francis McNutt in the Dominican Seminary in the 1960’s. I would like very much to be able to write to him. Could you supply an address to which I could send a letter? Thanks for whatever you can do.
    JOACHIM CULOTTA, OP


Leave a Reply

